File locking is a way of ensuring the integrity of the files. It allows many users to share a file in a safe way, without overwriting each other's work. If only one user is working on a file, file locking is not needed and there is no need to worry about anybody else changing it. However, when a single file is trying to be changed by two or more users, conflicts can arise, and some sort of file locking is needed.
I am excited to announce the Release of this useful feature. This feature will help our Businesses customers to collaborate on files safely. The locking feature works across the Web File Manager, WebDAV and the API. In other words, if the file is open from WebDAV, the file will be shown as "locked" in the Web File Manger. Or, if the file is opened in the Web interface using zoho, the other user connected to the his/her account using WebDAV won’t be able to edit the file. If the file is locked, the other user can still open the file as read only.
This feature is available for Business and Enterprise accounts.